How to choose a crypto card: a checklist
There is no best crypto card for everyone: your country, your amounts and where you pay decide it. Here is a checklist that lets you compare any cards in about 15 minutes.
5 min read · Updated: 2026-10-19
In short
First check what can make a card useless: country, the merchants you need, how you pay. Then count money: the full cost on your usual amount, not a headline 0% monthly fee. Finally, decide who you are trusting with your money.
- Step 1. Does the card work where you live and travel?
- Step 2. Do your services accept it, and does it support Apple Pay or Google Pay?
- Step 3. What do issuing + top-up + conversion cost on your amount?
- Step 4. Limits, KYC, and how to get money back out.
- Step 5. Who the issuer is, how support works, what happens if the card is blocked.
Checklist table
| What to check | Where to look | Red flag |
|---|---|---|
| Countries | Help center, countries page | Your country or travel destination is restricted |
| USDT top-up networks | Top-up screen in the app | One expensive network only, or networks not listed |
| Minimum top-up | Tariff | Minimum is above what you usually spend |
| Top-up fee | Tariff | Not stated, or on request |
| Authorization and decline fees | Tariff | A fee for every decline with no warning |
| Currency conversion | Tariff, help center | Amount not disclosed |
| Per purchase, daily, monthly limits | Tariff | Limits below your large purchases |
| Apple Pay / Google Pay | Card description | The wallet you use is not supported |
| ATM cash | Card description | Not available, and you need it |
| KYC | Card description | No documents, card in someone else's name |
| Getting money back out | Help center | Impossible, or only via support with a high minimum |
| Support | Help center, app | Bot only, no human reply |
| Public terms | Website, help center | Website and help center contradict each other |
Fees: count the full cost
Take your usual amount, say 300 USDT a month, and walk the whole route. What the exchange charges to withdraw, the network fee, the service's top-up fee, authorization fees if you make 20 purchases, and conversion if you pay in a currency other than the card's.
- A free monthly fee means little if a top-up costs several percent.
- A 0.50 USD authorization fee barely shows on large purchases and adds up on 2–5 USD subscriptions.
- The issue fee is paid once: over time it weighs less than a percentage on every top-up.
Top-up networks
Check which networks the card accepts and whether one of them is a cheap withdrawal network on your exchange. If the service takes one network and your exchange sends on another, you pay for an extra hop or risk a mistake.
It is a good sign when the service states networks, minimums and whether a memo is needed. It is a bad sign when you can only find out after sending money.
Limits and countries
Limits apply per purchase, per day, per month, and to top-ups. Almost any limits cover normal spending, but if you pay rent or buy electronics, check the single-transaction limit.
Country lists can differ a lot even between cards from the same service. A card that works at home may not work where you are flying. Check both lists.
Apple Pay, Google Pay and cash
Paying by phone is the main way to use a virtual card in a physical shop. If your wallet is not supported, the card is for online shopping only.
Many virtual crypto cards cannot withdraw cash. If you need cash, this point decides it. One more detail: virtual cards often have no PIN, and some terminals will refuse them.
KYC, support and custody risk
A legitimate service asks for KYC because a bank issues the card. For high limits you may be asked to prove your source of funds. That is normal. A no-documents card in someone else's name is not.
The money on the card is held by the service: custodial storage. Keep only what you plan to spend soon on the card, not your savings. Check how to reach support and how the service explains blocks.
If the service's website and help center give different limits or terms, trust what the app shows before you pay, and ask support in writing.
A worked check
As an example, here is KopiBank run through the checklist. KopiBank is a Freekonomist partner. As of 19 Oct 2026, its help center says: no monthly fee, 10 USDT minimum top-up, no ATM cash, KYC required, Apple Pay and Google Pay on two of the three cards. Red flags by our own checklist: the top-up fee is not disclosed in the help center, and the website and help center disagree on limits. Details: KopiBank fees and limits.
Who should choose what
- Mostly online purchases and subscriptions: a simple virtual card with low fees on small authorizations is enough.
- You travel a lot: countries, Apple Pay or Google Pay and a backup payment method matter most.
- You need cash: look at cards with ATM access or other routes such as P2P to your own bank card.
- Large purchases: check the single-transaction limit and the KYC requirements.
Questions and answers
What is the best crypto card?
The one that works in your country, is accepted by the services you use, and is cheapest on your usual amount. Compare with a checklist, not with ads.
What should I check first?
Countries and how you pay. If the card does not work where you spend, nothing else matters.
Do crypto cards need KYC?
Almost always, because a bank issues the card. A card with no checks usually means someone else's name and a risk of being blocked.
How much should I keep on a crypto card?
What you will spend soon. It is third-party custody; keep savings in your own wallet.
Related terms
Read next
A USDT transfer takes a couple of minutes, but one mistake with the network or address can cost the whole amount. Here is how to…
Read →KopiBank card fees and limitsTables for the three KopiBank cards on sale now: what each operation costs, the limits, and where each card does not work.…
Read →Partner links are marked. If you sign up through them, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. Details